Current Location: Home > Headlines > Page

China's largest tire production base "shutdown" due to coronavirus

China's Coronavirus has last over one month, and came into key plague prevention time in recent days. 

Many local governments has updated their plague prevention measures, including businesses and schools not to reopen until further notice, encouraging companies to have employees work from home until Feb. 10, and so on.

The Lunar New Year holiday was initially set to run from Jan. 24 to Jan.30, with work resuming on Jan. 31. Nationwide, the Chinese government has extended the holiday so that businesses would not reopen until Monday, Feb. 3.

Dongying, China's largest tire production base in Shandong Province, has locked down since Jan.30.

Dongying closed 7 toll stations of highway since Jan.30, and won't reopen until further notice.

On Jan.31, Dongying government started to not allow vehicles with nonlocal licenses to enter into the city.

Guangrao county, where tire manufacturers concentrated in, not allowed vehicles with Dongying licenses to enter into the city, and also not allowed nonlocal people entering in. If anyone has entered into the city before the ban, it is required to stay at home for at least two weeks insulation.

As of Monday morning, at least 24 provinces, municipalities and other regions have announced not to resume work before Feb. 10 at the earliest.

These cities, provinces or municipalities have announced a delay to resumption of work:

Beijing: encouraged companies to have employees work from home until Feb. 10.

Hubei, the epicenter of the outbreak, not to reopen until at least Feb. 14. However, officials said Friday that Hubei would further extend the holiday to an “appropriate extent,” according to state-owned newspaper People’s Daily. Hubei residents who work outside the province were also asked to stay put.

Tianjin: Businesses and schools are not to reopen until further notice.

Anhui,Chongqing, Fujian, Guangdong, Guangxi, Guizhou, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hunan, Inner Mongolia, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Ningxia, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanghai, Shanxi, Suzhou, Xi’an, Yunnan, Zhejiang have all said work is to resume no earlier than midnight on Feb. 9.